Board of Directors


Board of Directors

Seated from Left to Right – Reg Schellenberg (Canadian Cattlemen’s Association), Doug Sawyer (Canadian Cattlemen’s Association), Pat Hayes (Canadian Cattlemen’s Association), Mark Elford (CCIA Chair and representative for the SK Stock Growers Association), Howard Bekkering (Alberta Beef Producers), Lyle Miller (Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association), James MacLean (Canadian Livestock Dealer’s Association)

Standing from Left to Right – Larry Gerelus (Manitoba Beef Producers), Duncan Barnett (British Columbia Cattlemen’s Association), Ken Perlich (Livestock Markets Association of Canada), Corlena Patterson (Canadian Sheep Federation), Sid Atkinson (Dairy Farmers of Canada), Dr. Oliver Schunicht (Canadian Veterinary Medical Association), Kim Sytsma (Beef Farmers of Ontario), Ivan Johnson (Maritime Beef Council), Sylvain Bourque (Les Producteurs de bovins du Québec), Dean Andres (Canadian Bison Association), Michael Latimer (Canadian Beef Breeds Council – associate member)

Missing: Dan Gillis and Kim O’Neil representing the Canadian Meat Council.


CCIA is led by a board of directors representing 16 associations from all sectors of the livestock industry, including:

Member Organization Representative Photo
Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association Mark Elford, Board Chair* Mark Elford
Canadian Cattlemen’s Association Pat Hayes, Vice Chair* Pat Hayes
Alberta Beef Producers Howard Bekkering, Finance and Audit Chair*
Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association Lyle Miller, Executive Member* Lyle Miller
Canadian Cattlemen’s Association Doug Sawyer, Executive Member* Doug Sawyer
Beef Farmers of Ontario Kim Sytsma Kim Sytsma
British Columbia Cattlemen’s Association Duncan Barnett Duncan Barnett
Canadian Bison Association Bruce Downey
Canadian Cattlemen’s Association Reg Schellenberg Reg Schellenberg
Canadian Livestock Dealer’s Association James MacLean James MacLean
Canadian Meat Council Dan Gillis Dan Gillis
Canadian Meat Council Kim O’Neil Kim O?Neil
Canadian Sheep Federation Corlena Patterson Corlena Patterson
Canadian Veterinary Medical Association Dr. Oliver Schunicht Dr. Oliver Schunicht
Dairy Farmers of Canada Sid Atkinson Sid Atkinson
Les Producteurs de bovins du Québec Sylvain Bourque
Livestock Markets Association of Canada Ken Perlich
Manitoba Beef Producers Larry Gerelus Larry Gerelus
Maritime Beef Council Ivan Johnson Ivan Johnson
CCIA Associate Member Organization
Canadian Beef Breeds Council** Michael Latimer** Michael Latimer
Canadian Cervid Alliance** Ian Thorleifson
Canadian National Goat Federation** Mark Beaven
*CCIA Executive Committee Members **Associate Member/Organization ***Pending Appointment