CCIA Board of Directors

The Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA) is led by a Board of Directors representing 15 livestock organizations across Canada, including: livestock producers, auction markets, livestock dealers, feedlots, veterinarians and processors. The CCIA is an independent organization, and a Responsible Administrator of traceability for beef cattle, bison, sheep, and pending regulation goats and cervids.

The CCIA Executive Committee is as follows:

Chair Lyle Miller, Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association
Vice Chair Howard Bekkering, Alberta Beef Producers
Finance Chair Dr. Oliver Schunicht, Canadian Veterinary Medical Association
Executive Member Ivan Johnson, Maritime Beef Producers
Executive Member Ken Perlich, Livestock Markets Association of Canada
Past Chair Pat Hayes

The Board of Directors are responsible for strategic initiatives, evaluating financial performance, providing guidance and upholding the CCIA’s role as leaders in national traceability. Each year the CCIA publishes an Annual Activity Report which is available online at:

The CCIA’s committee structure provides strong and engaging on the ground support from its Board Members. Committee chairs include Lyle Miller, Technical Advisory Committee; Dr. Oliver Schunicht, Finance and Audit; Duncan Barnett, Board Governance and Development; Ken Perlich, Human Resources and Ivan Johnson, Communications.

PhotoRepresentative / Member Organization

Lyle Miller, Chair*
Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Chair
Alberta Cattle Feeders' Association

Howard Bekkering, Vice-Chair*
Alberta Beef Producers

Dr. Oliver Schunicht, Finance Chair*
Canadian Veterinary Medical Association

Ivan Johnson, Executive Member*, Communications Committee Chair
Maritime Beef Council

Ken Perlich, Executive Member*, Human Resources Chair
Livestock Markets Association of Canada

Don Hargrave
Beef Farmers of Ontario

Duncan Barnett
Board Governance and Development Committee Chair
British Columbia Cattlemen's Association

Yvonne Mills
Canadian Bison Association

Matthew Atkinson
Canadian Cattle Association

Matt Bowman
Canadian Cattle Association

Ryder Lee
Canadian Cattle Association

David Saretsky
Canadian Livestock Dealer’s Association

Cam Daniels
Canadian Meat Council

Kim O'Neil
Canadian Meat Council

Corlena Patterson
Canadian Sheep Federation

Sylvain Bourque
Les Producteurs de bovins du Québec

Nancy Howatt
Manitoba Beef Producers

Jason Pollock
Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association

Pat Hayes, Associate Member
Saskatchewan Cattlemen's Association

Shawn Wilson, Associate Member
Canadian Beef Breeds Council

Ian Thorleifson, Pending Member
Canadian Cervid Alliance

Anton Slingerland, Pending Member
Canadian National Goat Federation

* CCIA Executive Committee Members

Copyright @ Canadian Cattle Identification Agency